Village Council

Village Council

The Lake Isabella Village Charter establishes that the local government structure for the community as the Council-Manager form of government.  Under the Council-Manager form, the community directly elects 7 members to the Village Council.  The Village Council then hires a professional manager to carry out their policy actions and to oversee the day-to-day operations of the government.  Officers of the Council are selected every two years in January following an election.  These officers include the Village President, Village President Pro-Tempore, Village Clerk, and Village Treasurer.

In 2012 the State of Michigan amended the laws covering Village elections.  Starting in 2013 villages in Michigan are no longer allowed to conduct their own elections.  All Village elections are now be conducted by the local township. Regular elections of the Village Council are held as part of the even year November General Election.  Terms of office begin on the first Monday in January of the following year and run for 4 years.  Of the seven members of the Village Council; 3 are elected in one cycle, while the remaining 4 are elected in the next election cycle.  Each overlapping 2 year period is considered a session of the Village Council. Meetings of the Village Council are held on the 3rd Tuesday of every month at 7:00 PM.  The meeting location is the Village Hall, 1010 Clubhouse Drive, Lake Isabella, MI 48893.

The Village President and Council are the legislative body for the community; its members are the community's decision makers. Power is centralized in the elected Council, which approves the budget, adopts all legislation, and establishes policies and procedures for the Village. The Council also focuses on the community's goals, major projects, and such long-term considerations as community growth, land use development, capital improvement plans, capital financing, and strategic planning. The current Mission and Vision of the Village of Lake Isabella is shown below:

The relationship between the community, Village Council, and Village Manager also reflected in Village's adopted organizational chart. The current members of the Village Council are:

Position Elected Official Term of Office
Village President Dave Torgerson 2023 - 2027
Village Treasurer & Pro-Temp Robert Laraway 2021 - 2025
Village Clerk Carol Shannon 2021 - 2025
Council member Emil Lahti 2021 - 2025
Council member Paul Cueny 2023 - 2027
Council member Carrie Barringer 2023 - 2027*
Council member Brent Peavey 2023 - 2027
* Appointed to fill a term which requires the election of the remainder of the term at the 2024 General Election.

Lake Restoration Committee Members
  • Dave Torgerson
  • Brent Peavy
  • Robert Laraway
  • Carol Shannon - Alternate
Liaison Committee Members
  • Carol Shannon
  • Emil Lahti
  • Paul Cueny
  • Dave Torgerson - Alternate
Finance Committee Members
  • Village Treasurer - Robert Laraway
  • Village President - Dave Torgerson
  • Village Clerk - Carol Shannon
Election Commission Members
  • Village Clerk -Carol Shannon
  • Village President - Dave Torgerson
  • Village Treasurer - Robert Laraway
Public Safety Committee
  • Carrie Barringer
  • Emil Lahti
  • Paul Cueny
  • Brent Peavey (Alternate)

Historical List of Resolutions Considered by the Village Council
Village Council Rules & Procedures
2021 Public Safety Research Report

Historical Election Results