Boards & Committees

Boards & Committees

Interested in serving on a Board or Committee?  Terms annually expire in July, but often times there are openings during the calendar year.  If you are interested in being appointed to a committee you can complete and submit an application online anytime by clicking here.

Planning Commission
Unlike the Village Council which is a body made up of elected officials, the Planning Commission is body of appointed individuals selected to broadly represent different interests in the community.  This balance is intended to allow members of the Planning Commission to act independently of political considerations that elected officials must account for.  The planning commission acts in a formal, advisory role, making recommendations to the Village Council. The most fundamental implementation tool is zoning. The zoning ordinance establishes regulations for the use of land and some standards for development within identified zoning district boundaries.  One of the duties of the Planning Commission is to review and recommend all zoning ordinances to the Village Council.  In addition to this, they are also charged drafting the Master Plan and also with approval of certain projects depending on whether or not a Site Plan or a Special Land Use permit is required.   The Planning Commission meets on the 2nd Tuesday of the month at 7 PM.

Members Term Expires
Robert Laraway 2025
Farzad Tafreshi, Secretary 2027
Mike Simon,Vice-Chair 2027
 Leo Wickert 2025
 Jeff Grey 2025
Amy Ervin, Chair
Jason Benzinger

Zoning Board of Appeals
The Zoning Board of Appeals hears appeals, evaluates requests for interpretations and approves or denies dimensional and use variances from the zoning code. A variance is permission from the ZBA to allow a deviation from the zoning code due to a practical difficulty or unreasonable nature of applying the zoning code in a particular situation.  The ZBA in Lake Isabella does not have the authority to grant a use variance, only variances related to the structure or land.  Members of the ZBA are required to be electors in the community.

Members Term Expires
Jeff Grey 2024
Angela Schofield, Vice-Chair 2027
Marlin Howe 2025
Jim Ervin, Chair 2025
Greg Balcom 2026

Parks & Recreation Steering Committee
The Steering Committee served as the advisors to the Village Council's consultant to draft the Village’s Parks & Recreation Master Plan. The Committee and its members were asked to champion public involvement and participation in the planning process by attending meetings with the consultant, Village staff, and community workshops. The Committee is not currently active, as the Village Council has approved the Parks & Recreation Master Plan that the Committee was charged with creating.

Board of Ethics
Created by Section 18.03 of the Village Charter, the Village has an  independent  Board  of  Ethics  to  administer  and  enforce  the  conflict  of  interest  and  financial  disclosure  ordinances.No  member  of  the  board  may  hold  elective  or  appointed  office  under  the  Village  or  any  other  government  or hold  any  political  party  office.  The Board of Ethics has the authority to conduct hearings  and  deliberations,  issue  referrals  for  disciplinary  hearings  and  refer  violations  of  this  Ordinance, Village Charter, or state or federal criminal statutes to the attention of the appropriate prosecuting attorney with a request for the filing of the appropriate criminal prosecution enforcement.

Members Term Expires
Aaron Dore 2027
Richard Kulin 2025
Erin Williams 2026

Lake Restoration Committee
The Lake Restoration Committee is a committee with three members from the Village Council, three from the LIPOA Board, and three from the community. The committee is tasked with oversight and planning for the proposed lake restoration and dredging project. The committee's primary functions are budgeting and financial matters for the lake restoration project, overseeing community engagement related to the project, and planning and scheduling work done in the lake restoration effort. There is no residency requirement for the three at-large positions open to the community. The committee has been formed to guide the work done in preparation for presenting a new standalone lake restoration proposal before the community at a Special Election in 2023. If the voters approve, the committee will continue its oversight and planning role in the project.

Member Representing
Norm Burmeister, Chair LIPOA
Bill Keelean LIPOA
John Dauffenbach LIPOA
Christine Belanger (Alternate) LIPOA
Tracy Nelson Community At-Large
Todd Buchanan Community At-Large
Pete Dambrosio Community At-Large
Dave Torgerson, Vice-Chair Village
Robert Laraway Village
Brent Peavey Village
Carol Shannon (Alternate) Village